Life Story · Personalities & Quirks

A Mini-Story: How Being Positive Can Make a Difference

positive-difference-300X250
Ever felt like someone cheered you up while you were slogging through life? [🖼❗]
I’ve been quite busy past few days, so I haven’t been able to take much time to write aside from the World Health Day 2017 post (the call for sleep was much stronger…), so here’s a mini-story for you! 😀

A little background: I work with Australians over the internet via emails, video conferences and instant messaging, and have been for the past couple of years. Recently my Australian boss travelled to my city for work-related purposes, and of course I booked his time for dinner with my local boss! (Yes, I have more than a couple of bosses; my work is unique. 😛)

We had a really great time chatting. In the middle of it, my Australian boss said to me: “You know, your positivity is really infectious. When I’m feeling a little down, I find that I can’t stay that way when I talk to you [over instant messaging], and I could only achieve that with 10 glasses of beer!”

Wow. That really made my day. In fact, it made my week and month! I was so happy to hear that, I couldn’t stop grinning madly for the whole of the dinner (despite having loud music at the bar, I usually can’t stand loud music for long). It was really nice of him to tell me, and in front of my local boss too!

What I learned from that night was: just by being positive (my usual chipper self), I made a difference. I never knew for the past couple of years, but I did make a difference in one person’s life, even through the internet via email and instant messaging! Even if it’s just a little one like making him feel better for the moment, and even if I think sometimes I use too many smileys (yes, at work!), but I’m really happy I did. 😀

Did you have a similar story? Or did someone else make you feel better just by being their chipper self? Do share in the comments below!

~Nicolle ❤

P.S. What a coincidence! Right after I published this post and started catching up on reading for the past couple of days, fellow blogger Ipuna Black also posted about positivity; we never know which lives we influence! What synchronicity. 😛

A Short Self-Compassionate Letter

Dear Self,

Wow! I’m so happy for you and proud of you! You have always tried to have a good relationship with people, have a good chat and at least appear your usual chipper self even when you’re down, even through emails and instant messaging. Here’s proof that you did make a positive difference, and I hope you’ll continue to do so! 😀

 

 

15 thoughts on “A Mini-Story: How Being Positive Can Make a Difference

  1. I love this, Nicolle! I agree that positivity is contagious! I’m so happy you spread some to your boss. I have people who told me that I have so much energy. I used to think that I should “calm down,” but I’ve decided to embrace my energy and share it with others. We are in sync!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment