Crystals, Energy & Spirituality

My Beginner Crystal Endeavour, Part 1!

photo-crystal-collection1-350x350
My crystal collection! I think I went a bit overboard as a beginner…

Yep, I’m into crystals too! I have loads of interests. πŸ˜†

I may be a beginner to crystals, but it’s not a totally new interest for me; I actually had this hand-sized pocket book for rocks and mineralsΒ at least 20 years ago! (I still have it on my shelf.) I used to collect random rocks for fun too; I had a liking for polished round rocks that are used for landscaping for their smooth surface. πŸ˜› But I wasn’t much of a collector as a kid, so – as with my now non-existent stamp collection – it didn’t last!

Around the time I started this blog (Feb 2017), I was just getting into energy healing and chakra when one day I suddenly had a thought – hey, crystals have healing properties why not get some crystal jewellery?

As with anything else I think of buying, I went online to read up, and that was when I read that crystals are actually sentient! I thought for a moment before deciding to believe it (the idea resonated with me), so that night I went around apologising to the few crystal jewelleries I have, like, “I’m sorry! I didn’t know you were sentient!” I suppose it was good that I wasn’t rough with them. πŸ˜…

The idea of having crystals still stuck in my mind after a few weeks, so after a lot more reading online, I found a crystal shop I liked and started my collection. πŸ˜„

Note: I took the liberty to link to various articles from Essencentral and samanthamurdochblog throughout this post (because I’m not an expert πŸ˜›), so thanks to both of you! πŸ˜€


Rose Quartz Bunny

photo-crystal-rosequartz-bunny-300x300
My rose bunny ❀️

As its pink colour suggests, a rose quartz is the crystal of love – gentle, loving, kind, the good things in a relationship! Appropriate too, because 7 years ago my then-boyfriend, now-husband bought this rose quartz bunny for me just because he thought it was cute (thanks, dear husband ❀️). At the time I was more preoccupied with life so this bunny became a table ornament, but I was always gentle with it when I wiped the dust from it with a tissue. Now that I think about it, it was always either at my bedside table or at my computer desk, so it was almost always with me when I was home. πŸ™‚

In case you’re wondering why its ears are sharp… that’s because I accidentally dropped it once and broke both its ears. Yes, that line alone is 😱-worthy!

Before telling you that story, let’s go back a few days… when I was reading up about crystals, I learned that different crystals are best suited for different purposes – like for meditation, energy healing, etc – and the best way is to meditate and ask them. Since I wasn’t (and still isn’t) psychic, I asked the question, visualised the answers in text (like a multiple choice question) and guessed based on which answer stands out more. My rose bunny said no to being held during meditation, and yes to being placed on my computer desk… at least I think so, I’m still not sure until today. πŸ˜…

Fast forward a few days later to the incident. I wanted to do a one-hour meditation with Solfeggio frequency music, and I’ve read that it’s good to meditate with a quartz family crystal so I wanted to try that. Even though it previously said no to meditating, my rose bunny was the only crystal I had… can you see where it’s going? πŸ˜…

I could have put the bunny on the couch next to me; I didn’t as I was worried I’d knock it off. I could have meditated at the desk instead of the couch and put the bunny on the desk; I didn’t as I wanted to get away from the computer (I read that EMF may interfere with meditation). In fact, I could have not used it for meditation at all! Instead, I balanced it at over my heart chakra, where it was stable… until after the meditation when I forgot about it and stood up.

It fell with an audible ‘clunk!’

I’m pretty sure my heart jumped with an audible sound too.

Heart pumping, I held my rose bunny in my hands. It lost half of both ears – I recovered one, but I never found the other one until today – but otherwise seemed fine. Still, I felt horrible for causing it to break.

Half-crying, I kept apologising to my rose bunny in a rapid train of thoughts, “I’m sorry! I’M SORRY! What can I do to make it up to you? Should I glue your ears back together? Or should I put you back on the table and leave you there? Or should I-”

Then a calm, gentle thought interrupted, “It’s all right.”

I stopped. I stared at the rose bunny in my hands.

The rose bunny was, well, just being there.

I wondered if it really happened, but I remembered it so clearly. I knew I didn’t imagine it, and I knew it wasn’t part of my thoughts because – as you may recall – I was right in the middle of my rapid train of pianicked thoughts when that calm, gentle thought interrupted. Until today, as I type this post, that was the one and only time I ever received a thought from any of my crystals (not just my rose bunny) so I’m still not 100% sure.

But I decided then to put my trust in my rose bunny’s compassion and told myself, “It’s all right.” πŸ™‚

For further reading:


Black Tourmaline Bracelet

photo-crystal-tourmaline-bracelet-350x300
Tall, dark and handsome? πŸ˜‚

This bracelet was the first I ever bought! πŸ˜€

When I first read about crystal healing properties, I also read about chakras and symptoms of chakra blockages (as expected, I have loads of the symptoms…). I remember reading that the chakras affect each other (i.e. if 1 is blocked, the others try and compensate and may become blocked as well), that it’s important to ground oneself when doing any chakra or energy healing, and that it’s best to work on the bottom few chakras before the upper ones.

After all my reading, I came to a conclusion; the first crystal I should get would be something that can helpΒ  me ground myself while helping with my root chakra – and my black tourmaline bracelet came into the picture!

Black tourmaline is a crystal of protection – it helps one to ground oneself, helps with the root chakra, protects against negative energy (especially emotional vampires, those who make you tired after you deal with them…) and even protects against EMF! That last bit is a bonus for me, because I’m always in front of a computer. πŸ˜…

This bracelet was the first one I tested a method of choosing the right crystal for me (though it didn’t really work πŸ˜…). They say the first one you get attached to despite looking at the whole range is the one that is right for you, but I didn’t get that with the black tourmaline crystals, so I went through a normal process of choosing one – seeing which one fits better. πŸ˜†

But it was just a slow, build up love instead of a love at first sight! I really love having it with me wherever I go, I like running my hands along its sides, and it’s the one crystal I’ll definitely wear when I go out. ❀️

And after wearing it for a couple of weeks, you know what it reminds me of?

cat-laptop-449x300
“I’m here to protect you against EMF, yo.” [πŸ–ΌοΈβ—οΈ]
A cool black cat! Like a cool, stoic warrior that stays by my side when I go on my daily life, and if there’s bad energy comes in my direction, “SMACK!” goes a paw! πŸ˜†

Stoic but warm, that’s the feeling I get from my black tourmaline bracelet. πŸ˜€

Further Reading:


Blue Kyanite Pendant

photo-crystal-kyanite-pendant-300x225
My blue kyanite pendant!

This is the first crystal pendant I ever bought, and remains my only one! I planned to get a crystal for every chakra eventually, but I decided to get a kyanite crystal first because it has the ability to align all chakras, plus it’s a good crystal for meditation. πŸ˜€

When I went to the crystal shop and asked to look at kyanite, the owner showed me several oval blue kyanite pendants. Even before he took it out from the glass counter, immediately my eyes went to the one on the far right, though I stopped myself so that I could at least go through the rest of them before choosing one. But in the end I still went back to the first one, so I think this blue kyanite crystal is meant for me!

I call this pendant my teardrop crystal, because it reminds me of a magical artefact from the video game Wild Arms (also called the Teardrop Crystal!) that allows the shaman heroine to communicate with the spirit guardians of the world. I guess in a way it makes me feel a little bit like a shaman. πŸ˜›

I usually do a daily 5-minute energy cleansing session (yes, you need to do energy cleansing with crystals!) for all the crystals I wear with Reiki (yes, I’m attuned!). Even though I’ve read that kyanite doesn’t need cleansing as it doesn’t store negative energy, I do it for mine anyway because I read somewhere that crystals enjoy the Reiki energy. I just like rewarding them after a day’s work. πŸ˜€

For further reading:


And that was my first trip to the crystal shop! I’d like to think I have a pretty good self-control when it comes to buying stuff, since I bought the 2 crystals I wanted from the shop and nothing more… that is, until my next trip to the store. πŸ˜…

But that’s a story for another time!

~Nicolle ❀️

A Short Self-Compassionate Letter

Dear Self,

It’s always good to learn something new! Especially one that resonates with you like crystals. Good luck and have fun with it. πŸ˜€

16 thoughts on “My Beginner Crystal Endeavour, Part 1!

    1. Learning new things is fun! I’d suggest reading the links about chakra and energy in my post (goes to Kayla’s Essencentral blog) before buying any crystals, because crydtals can help with clearing chakra blockages too. πŸ˜€
      Have fun! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love crystals too and have actually only bought one for myself – celestite. I keep it on my bedside table plus an amethyst that I bought for my mother but now has passed to me, and a clear crystal that belongs to my partner. I haven’t bought any jewelry yet but can think of one shop I’d like to visit soon πŸ˜‰ Lovely post and some great ideas on how to start with buying them, x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! The experience with your bunny sent shivers down my spine as well. There is definitely a sentience to crystals, even if it’s not in the way we assume sentience to be! So excited for you as you embark on this endeavor πŸ’œ thank you for the mentions, Nicolle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, that part with my rose bunny was cool! Too bad that was the only time I ever received a thought from any of my crystals so far; it’s probably something that takes time, effort and probably readiness. I’m still a beginner after all, and it’s really interesting (and exciting!). πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, thank you for the mentions πŸ™‚ x
    Secondly, I LOVED this post πŸ™‚ love the bunny, not at all surprised you got that thought back- it’s a wonderfully comforting and reassuring crystal.
    With tourmaline, I get a sense of a nightclub bouncer…strong and protective! My son is Reiki-attuned too πŸ™‚
    Great post xox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

