Life Story · Media Recommendation

One Lovely Blog Award!

award-one-lovely-blog-261x264
❤️! Picture from Braver Than Before

Wow, what uncanny timing! A round the same day I wrote about The Blue Sky Tag and nominated Talasi Guerra @ Braver Than Before, she nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award! Thanks very much, Talasi, it’s really lovely! ❤️

Like the Blue Sky Tag, the One Lovely Blog Award is a blogger-nomination award where the participating blogger does the following:

  • Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog
  • Post about the award
  • Share 7 facts about yourself
  • Nominate at most 15 people
  • Tell your nominees the good news!

The reason why I posted this so quickly after being nominated is, well, I learned my lesson and didn’t go looking for the originator of this award and getting sidetracked with reading! Never again. 😛

And now, let’s start!


7 Random Facts about Me!

Warning: Talkative mode engaged!

#1: Desserts

I love desserts! Ice cream, especially cookies n’ cream / Oreo or vanilla with topping flavour; cakes, especially tiramisu; cream puffs; tong shui – you name it, I’m more than likely to love it! Usually going to the shopping mall = dessert reward! 🥞🍡🍦🍨🍩🍫🍮🎂🍰

Exception; while I like biscuits and cookies, they tend to be too messy for me (I tend to send crumbs everywhere) so I prefer other dessers. 🍪

#2: Sports

I suck at any sports that use my legs / feet. Long jump? Nope. High jump? Bleh. Race? Dead last. Heck, I can’t even play this dancing rcade game without jumping like a monkey!

Strangely, I’m all right with sports that use my hands. I almost represented my intraschool team at disc throwing. I played a bit of softball and the coach said I had talent (I still suck at running though). And of course, I’m way better with dancing arcade game that requires my hands instead of my feet!

#3: Soundtracks

I listen to a variety of video game soundtracks, pretty much everything short of loud rock or metal! I like the heart-pumping battle themes, the emotional sad themes, the peaceful travelling themes, the epic war themes – I generally like soundtracks that make me imagine a scene that fits them, whether from the game or my imagination. While I’m really tempted to spam this entire post with all of my favourite soundtracks, I’ll leave that for a “best of soundtracks” post and just post one – my favourite opening theme from Wild Arms, even almost 20 years later!

#4: Alcohol

I can’t stand the taste or smell of alcohol of any sort! My parents who enjoy alcohol gave me different types to try for many years, even a coconut rum with orange juice combo that my mum said was very mild… but they all failed my smell and taste test. The only alcohol I can really drink is shandy, and even then I can’t drink it too fast or the alcohol taste becomes too strong!

So what do I drink during drinking outings? Camomile or peppermint tea. 🙂

#5: Japanese Comics (Manga)

I love to read manga! I’ve probably read hundreds in my life. 😛 Because buying official English-translated manga is way too expensive (and I really dislike reading the more affordable Malay-translated ones), I usually read them online on fan-translated manga sites where they’re available until they’re officially licensed. I like manga because they let me go at my own pace, combine artwork with storytelling, and explore a lot of different themes. There is even a manga genre for adults (seinen and josei), not just teenagers!

One of my favourite is Cat Street [🆎❗️], the story of a girl who, after a traumatic incident as a child actress, withdraws from society and becomes a recluse without purpose. Now a teenager, she met a strange man who invites her to join El Liston, a free school for students who didn’t fit in with society. A heartwarming story of friendship, struggles to fit in with society, learning about love and rejection. If you’re a highly sensitive person like me, it’s best to read this alone because there are some heart-tugging scenes that draw tears. 🙂

manga-cat-street-200x317
Cat Street manga! Picture from MangaFox [🆎❗️]

#6: Pseudonyms

Before this blog, I used 2 pseudonyms whenever I was online; one for original fiction and online discussion forums before I was hit with depression, and a second one for fanfiction / novelisation of video games I love but thought the storyline could be conveyed better (all my writing are still published online for free!). I suppose the pseudonyms stem from my low self confidence (and all the warnings as a child that internet people are “bad”). One day, when I’m ready, I’ll reveal my pseudonyms and the stories I wrote with them. 🙂

#7: Video Games!

Of course, I saved the best for last – I really enjoy video games! (Yeah, like that’s new. 😆) But I never did say what about them that I like, did I? I usually play a genre of games called role-playing games (RPG), where the player assumes the role of a character in a fictional setting, kind of like interactive storytelling; it’s like watching a movie except that I’m controlling the character. I love those kind of games because I think of them as multiple arts combined – storytelling, music, pictorial art & graphic design & animation – but still requires a lot of logic – programming, gameplay balancing (can’t make a game too difficult or easy), planning, etc. It’s not easy to make a video game!

I knew our technology is advancing quickly, but I never thought the day would come so soon where I could see such lifelike scenery like in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, like in the HD video below:

And the music! A lot of soundtracks are really move my heart, especially when I imagine the scenes from the game when they play (see #3). 🙂


And My Nominations!

Well, since I just posted The Blue Sky Tag yesterday, I could just copy and paste my nomination list from there! But after some thought, I decided to make a separate list for this nomination and narrow it down to a list of blogs with posts that I reeeeally enjoy! I like all the blogs I follow, but the ones on this list really resonates with me, so a big thanks to all your lovely blogs! ❤️

  1. Essencentral
  2. Ipuna Black
  3. Make It Ultra™
  4. samanthamurdochblog
  5. The Golden Lands

Do note that this isn’t compulsory! If you have a reason for not wanting to take part or just don’t feel like it, no worries. 😀

(And I’d nominate you if you weren’t the one who nominated me, Talasi. 😛)


Random Tidbits

Just like The Blue Sky Tag, here’s a random game soundtrack recommendation! It’s “Dearly Beloved” from Kingdom Hearts II (recognise some characters in that picture?), a beautiful soundtrack played during the title screen. I didn’t have any game soundtracks with the word “lovely” in it, but I think “beloved” is closed enough. 🙂

Have fun and remember, it’s not compulsory! 😀

~Nicolle ❤️

A Short Self-Compassionate Letter

Dear Self,

I know it was hard for you to narrow down that list of nominees; I know you really want to nominate every blog you visit if you could. You don’t have to feel bad for that, because while it’s a good gesture to do so, it’s not a bad gesture if you don’t! Not everything in the world have only good-or-bad options, there are also good-or-neutral options such as this. So don’t worry. 🙂

9 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award!

    1. Haha, thanks! My sister wanted to buy the whole Witcher novel set (which I’m naturally going to borrow!), except I haven’t finished the 3rd game yet because I’m too OCD about visiting every little icon on the crazily huge maps… well, gotta get to it! 🎮🖥️

      And don’t worry about rushing the post, just take your time! I’m just glad you’re taking part. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

